New Members and Officers Begin Terms with Delaware Soybean Board

(HARRINGTON, DE) Two new farmers have joined the nine-member Delaware Soybean Board (DSB) for terms which began October 1.

Brett Coverdale of Harrington was elected to succeed Jonathan Snow of Smyrna. Coverdale farms 200 acres in Kent County with his brother Ben, raising corn and soybeans.

Tim Rogers of Frankford was elected to succeed Jay Baxter of Georgetown. Rogers farms 1,300 acres with his brother Troy, raising soybeans, corn, watermelons, wheat and barley.

In addition to Coverdale, Dale Blessing and Frank Hrupsa represent Kent County on the Board. Rogers joins Cory Atkins, Rick Dickerson and Fred West to represent Sussex County.  From New Castle County are Mike Clay and Robbie Emerson.

The new DSB leadership team includes Chairman Cory Atkins of Seaford, Vice-Chairman Dale Blessing of Harrington, and Treasurer Fred West of Frankford.

“We appreciate the extra effort that both Jay Baxter and Jon Snow put into their time with the Delaware Soybean Board in service to their fellow farmers and the Delaware soybean industry,” says Susanne Zilberfarb, executive director of DSB. Snow and Baxter each served the maximum three, three-year terms with the Delaware Soybean Board. Both men served as officers, Baxter as chairman and Snow as treasurer, for most of their tenure.

“Their willingness to go above and beyond the call was apparent, and greatly benefited our soybean farmers,” concluded Zilberfarb.

Delaware farmers plant about 180,000 acres of soybeans each year, and the crop generates approximately $60 million in value to the state. Delaware’s agricultural industry contributes about $8 billion per year to the Delaware economy.

The Delaware Soybean Board consists of nine farmer-directors and the Secretary of Agriculture. Funded through a one-half of one percent assessment on the net market value of soybeans at their first point of sale, the checkoff works with partners in the value chain to identify and capture opportunities that increase farmer profit potential. One-half of the soybean checkoff assessments collected by the state boards are forwarded to the United Soybean Board.

For more information about the Delaware Soybean Board visit

For information contact:
Susanne Zilberfarb
Delaware Soybean Board
(410) 430-2613